Articles in this section

How to void or revoke a document after sending it?

Published:

Revoking a document refers to the process of recalling or canceling a document before it is signed. This may occur for a variety of reasons, such as the presence of errors or inaccuracies in the document, or the document being sent to the wrong recipient. In BoldSign, the sender can revoke a document after it has been sent.

Documents can only be revoked while they are in progress. Once a document has been completed by all recipients, it can no longer be revoked. If a completed document was sent to the wrong recipient, you can clone the document and send a new signing request.

Follow the below steps to revoke a document:

  • Find the document to be revoked in Dashboard or My Documents and select it.
  • The documents overview page opens, and there is a More actions button in the top-right corner.
  • Clicking the More actions button reveals options such as View document, Re-assign, Clone document, Decline, Revoke, Download document, and Send reminder.
  • Select the Revoke option, and a confirmation dialog box appears.
  • Enter the reason for revoking the document in the given text box before confirming revocation.
  • Click Yes, revoke button, and the document will be revoked successfully.

Revoking a document

Result of Revoking a Document

  • The sender and signer are notified about the revocation of the document and sent an email. The below image shows the revoked mail of the sender.

revoke email for sender

  • The below image shows the revoked mail of the signer. Once it is revoked, the signer can’t sign the document anymore.

revoke email for signer

Billing impact of a revoked document
Sending a document consumes one signature request; if the sender revokes it, the credit is restored, but if a signer declines it, the credit remains used.

How to delete a revoked document

Once a document has been revoked, it can be permanently deleted from your account if it is no longer needed.

Follow these steps to delete a revoked document:

  • Navigate to Dashboard or My Documents.
  • Locate and select the revoked document.
  • Click the More Actions button in the top-right corner.
  • Select Delete Forever.

Delete Forever

Permanently deleting a revoked document removes it from your account and cannot be undone. Ensure that you no longer need the document before proceeding with permanent deletion

Was this article useful?
Like
Dislike
Help us improve this page
Please provide feedback or comments
Access denied
Access denied